The 6th annual Optical Society of America Vision Meeting is sponsored by the Center for Visual Science at the University of Rochester. The meeting will be held at the University of Rochester Medical Center on October 6, 7, and 8, 2006. This year's meeting coincides with the 90th Anniversary of OSA's founding right here in Rochester! Rochester, located in Western New York, is an internationally recognized center for visual and imaging science and provides a scenic and natural setting for a variety of outdoor activities. Frontiers in Optics, the Annual Meeting of the Optical Society of America, will immediately follow the OSA Vision Meeting.

As in past years, the Optical Society of America will offer a one-day "free pass" to all OSA members who are pre-registered for the OSA Vision Meeting to attend the OSA Annual Meeting on Monday, October 9. The rates for non-OSA members can be found on the OSA Annual Meeting registration page. If you will be pre-registering for the OSA Vision Meeting then you are eligible for special half-price OSA membership. The membership form will become available to you when you pre-register for the OSA Vision Meeting. If you are not pre-registering for the OSA Vision Meeting then please visit http://www.osa.org/join/ for information on becoming an OSA member.

The local organizing committee is chaired by David Williams, University of Rochester, and the program committee is chaired by Ione Fine, University of Southern California.

The OSA Vision Meeting is a low cost, high quality meeting designed to focus discussion on key issues in vision science. The registration fee will be $50 for students/postdocs and $200 for all others. The fee will increase to $100 for students/postdocs and $250 for all others after the registration deadline September 1. (Note that the registration fee includes breakfast, lunch, and coffee breaks for all 3 days plus dinner for one night)

The main strength of the OSA Vision Meeting is its small size, which allows for engaging scientific discussion among colleagues. Another advantage of this format is that there will be no parallel sessions, allowing every participant to attend all of the talks they want to hear. The meeting is organized around 7 workshops, each with 4 speakers and a format designed to promote active discussion of key issues in vision science. Each workshop will end with 30-40 minutes of general discussion of the issues presented. We expect to schedule 2 contributed talk sessions (6 talks in each) from the contributed abstracts. In addition, we would like to encourage all registrants to submit a poster presentation to the meeting. We are especially interested in abstract submissions that relate to the workshop topics or address one of the topics listed below. Submissions on unrelated topics in vision science are also welcome.

Some topics on which we encourage abstract submissions include (but are not limited to):

  • Infant Vision
  • Emmetropization/Myopia
  • Color Vision
  • Aging and Vision
  • Noninvasive Assessment of the Visual System
  • Retinal Circuitry for Color Vision/Opponency
  • Spatial Vision
  • Retinal Disease
  • Rod Inputs to Vision
  • Visual Transduction
  • Photoreceptive Ganglion Cells
  • Low Vision
  • Visual Development

All of the abstracts accepted for this year's meeting (including the invited ones) will be published in the online Journal of Vision.

This year's OSA Vision Meeting will celebrate Donald MacLeod, the 2006 recipient of the Tillyer Award. The Tillyer Award was established in 1953 through an endowment from the American Optical Co. It is presented not more than once every two years to a person who has performed distinguished work in the field of vision, including (but not limited to) the optics, physiology, anatomy, or psychology of the visual system. Past winners include: John Krauskopf (2004), George Sperling (2002), John D. Mollon (2000), David R. Williams (1998), John G. Robson (1996), Jacob Nachmias (1994), Horace B. Barlow (1992), Vivianne C. Smith & Joel Pokorny (1990), Russell L. De Valois (1988).

The Young Investigator Award is an OSA tradition and will be awarded to the student or postdoc who gives the best presentation at the meeting. Poster and paper presentations will be considered equally and invited speakers are not eligible. The winner of the award will receive a cash prize of $150. Past winners include Daniel Gray & Joseph Carroll (2005), Jennifer Williams (2004), Xu Cheng (2003), Jun Yan (2001), Heidi Hofer (2000), and Gokhan Malkoc (1999).

There is space available for companies that would like to exhibit at the OSA Vision Meeting. Contact for pricing and additional sponsorship or marketing opportunities.